Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

Windows 7 -Exclusive Device Control

leave a comment »

When I installed Windows 7 RC, and RTM, I kept experiencing an annoying problem. Whenever I started a video game  my volume would drop to almost zero.  For the longest time I couldn’t figure out why.  After some snooping around I found the problem.  It’s a simple check box that tells the system if applications should be allowed to have exclusive control of the Sound Playback Device or not.

If you’re having this problem follow the steps below to make it work properly.

Open Playback devices. Right click the speaker in the lower right and chose Playback devices.

Playback Devices

Next select your default sound device, in my case Digital Audio (S/PDIF), and click properties.

Sound Devices

In the properties window go the Advanced tab. Under Exclusive Mode un-check “Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device.”

Exclusive Control

Click OK and you’re done. Your sound should work properly now when you start a game, movie, or whatever it is that has been dropping/increasing your volume.

Written by Samir Banjanovic

September 11, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Leave a comment