Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

iPhone OS 3.1 Non-Responsive

with 8 comments

I updated my phone to iPhone OS 3.1 yesterday, since then my phone randomly becomes non-responsive.  I did some research and found that others are having the same issue on the Apple forums.  The phone randomly stops responding to anything, neither the home button nor lock button are recognized.  The only way out is by performing a hard reset.  This is very frustrating since I don’t know if it’ll shut off (assuming it’s shutting off, I don’t know what’s happening) in the middle of the night–it’s my alarm clock.

There’s a video below showing that the phone won’t do anything. I didn’t shut off the phone and make it look like it’s non-responsive, what would be the point of that?  I did notice the phone locks up after a it’s been jerked around; that makes me wonder if the accelerometer is causing an issue. Anyway, if you’re having the same issue post it in the Apple forum and comment below.

In case you’re wondering, it’s an iPhone 3G.

Written by Samir Banjanovic

September 10, 2009 at 7:31 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes Yes Yes….I’m having the same problem! Can you revert back to 3.0?

    Rachael

    September 11, 2009 at 11:07 am

  2. Yep – I’m having the same problem with mine. Incredibly irritating and leaves the phone basically useless.

    I tried downgrading the firmware to a previous version and couldn’t get it to work – so don’t try that, it’s a waste of time.

    Also, resetting to factory settings and restoring the firmware on another machine didn’t solve the issue.

    Tim

    September 13, 2009 at 3:30 am

    • Yeah. I tried doing factory reset but that’s pretty much useless since it installs 3.1. This is really furstrating, I almost missed a meeting because my calendar alarm didn’t go off.

      Samir Banjanovic

      September 13, 2009 at 1:48 pm

  3. YES ! I have the same problem here with my 3G 16Go ! I thought it was my phone 🙂 I’m so happy to hear you guys have the same bug ^^

    Ramooon

    September 14, 2009 at 11:56 am

  4. I had the same problem. I just plugged on my MacBook, and went right back.

    Sebastien D

    September 15, 2009 at 10:14 am

  5. I’m happy to know that i’m not the only one in this situation !

    Do you find another to resolve the bug without doing a hard reset ?

    Buzz

    September 15, 2009 at 11:01 am

    • So far I’ve not found a way to resolve it. I’ve restored phone as a new phone and it didn’t work. It’s something internal to 3.1 that is not easy to fix.

      Samir Banjanovic

      September 15, 2009 at 2:10 pm


Leave a Reply

