Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

iPhone OS 3.0 – First Impressions

leave a comment »

Thanks to gizmodo I was able to get my hands on the iPhone OS 3.0 before it officially comes out. I haven’t been using it for a long time, so don’t take think of this as a complete review, consider it the first part to a series of updates. If you’re interested in getting your hands on the same image I currently run on my iPhone then hit up your favorite torrent site and look for one of the follow three.

  • 1st Gen. iPhone: iPhone1,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw
  • iPhone 3G: iPhone1,2_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw
  • iPod Touch: iPod2,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw

Sometimes you’ll have to edit the name of the file you’re looking for. I know I had to when I was looking for the image. The size of the 3g version 230MB (241,229,233 bytes to be exact) keep that in mind when looking at the torrent information. I am not encouraging you to go out and download the image; whatever you do you’ll be doing so at your own risk.

Warnings and hints aside. The third version of the iPhone OS isn’t much of a drastic change as when 2.0 introduced with the apps capability. However, there are minor tweaks that do make the phone more enjoyable.

Spotlight

First of all, it works great, it’s pretty swift to run through your phone and locate whatever you search for, the only complaint I have is that it’s a local search. I would love for it to be like the Pre’s global search. If something isn’t located on the you are given the option to search Wiki, Google, etc. However, it’s still

pretty awesome.

I’ve found myself using Spotlight a lot. I’ve used it to search my e-mails, music, and contacts. It’s by far my favorite feature in the entire iPhone OS.

I am not sure how I did without it until now. It’s very thoughtful of Apple to make it such a quick and responsive addition. I’ve used it while listening to music without having my music cut in and out. Now, that could be because there isn’t all that much to search on my phone. There’s about 5.9GB of music on my phone, and about 100 contacts. So yeah, it’s not nearly as much as some people will have, but I imagine it’s still rather swift regardless of the amount of data on your phone.

I forgot to mention the range of Spotlight’s search. I felt lazy and didn’t want to type up the range. So, I give you a picture! You can re-arrange the way the searchdisplays results, which I really like.

With spotlight the iPhone is now more awesomer.

Phone Call Information

Since the first version of the iPhone you had to estimate how long your phone conversations were. Apple has finally realized that there are some teenagers out there that like to brag how long they talk on the phone to “that guy” or “that girl.” So Apple decided instead of over estimating, and people constantly nagging for evidence they’d finally include that information.

Pretty awesome, right? Now you have prove that you talked to a girl for longer than 30 seconds. Props to Apple. Side note, the provided screen shot isn’t “that” girl.

Camera Application Changes

Whatever Apple did to tweak the camera application it worked. It opens much faster and is a lot more responsive. The only weird thing that I noticed in the app is a black square in the lower left (look at picture. Note: I don’t live in a dungeon, the iPhone sucks at low light environments). I am still disappointed that Apple didn’t give 3G users video recording. It can’t be that hard. Jailbroken phones have been doing it since there is jailbreaking. I’ll wait it out and see what Apple’s reasoning is. Better be good. Funny stuff happens to me and I

can’t record it to show to you guys.

UPDATE: The black square displays the last picture taken. In this case I took a picture that was very dark, thus it looks like a black square.  No problem!

Final Thoughts

That’s it for now. I’ll keep this going as 3.0 get’s officially released and they finally give us push. I am looking forward to trying out the Push Notification System Apple promised us with 2.0.

I am done here. Behave until I come back.

Written by Samir Banjanovic

June 13, 2009 at 12:25 am

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

