Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

… or Death and his friends

leave a comment »

I recently wrote about Coldplay’s new song Violet Hill, and I stated I would sooner or later (appears to be later) write about my interpretation of the song, and you guessed it, this isn’t it. This, my beloved fans, is the story of my failed attempt to interpret the song.

As you can imagine I’ve listened to the song a ton of times, literally a ton; and I still have nothing. As I attempted to listen to the song to jump start some kind of interpretation I found myself starring at my keyboard through my camera’s hood.

So, I thought I’d get my act together, listen to the song and not be a disappointed to my huge non-existing fan base.

Here I go.

For some reason when I hear the opening of the song I am reminded of the French revolution of 1789.

Was a long and dark December
From the rooftops I remember
There was snow
White snow

Fail.

The French revolution took place in the middle of summer. Strike one. Way to go Chris, not only do I feel silly, but I also feel stupid for forgetting that the French revolution was in July of 1789!

However, I didn’t let this minor setback drag me down, I stuck with the French revolution idea (yes I realize I had found my own mistake in my logic.) So I went on with the lyrics.

Clearly I remember
From the windows they were watching
While we froze down below

When the future’s architecture
By a carnival of idiots on show
You’d better lie low

Ok, I can see a connection between the first and second verse. It’s December and it’s cold, the French freedom fighters were freezing their asses off while trying to gain their freedom.

Anyway, let’s stick with this until we get to the third verse, it’s where the real pain starts.

No, I didn’t stab myself.

But what in God’s green earth is the third “paragraph.” I wasn’t sure if I should classify it as a verse or a bridge, so I sought guidance from a wise friend.

I asked my friend – who, unlike me, is very proficient at music – if a bridge could be in the early stages of song.

Me: So could a bridge be in the early stages of a song?

Friend: *Shrug* Wiki it, I don’t know.

Fail.

Talk about help. Just for shits and giggles, I didn’t go to Wiki, it’s too much work. I’ll go ahead and say following the conversation with my friend I’ve decided to halt further interpretation of the song for the good of my own health, and the health of my small non-existing fan base.

So, here I am, one leg resting on my table the other kicking the wall (impressive huh?) Either way, neither my foot nor the wall are benefiting from my frustration with this song.

Don’t get me wrong I am still highly addicted to the song, but it’s starting to drive me nuts that I can’t decipher the meaning of it. But there is good news, while surfing the web I found Chris’ brief and useless description of the song.

Chris Describes Violet Hill as “chalky, pastel feeling” which he says reminds him of his childhood. “Imagine a pseudo guitar-like circus music with a pinch of Chicago… It’s something new from us and you will be impressed.”

Yes Chris, I am very impressed. I am impressed with the amount of mental pain this song has caused me! To you people that are smarter than me and had success finding the meaning of the song, I tip my hat. For, I have failed – miserably.

Fail.

Note: No animals or humans were harmed in the making of this post.

Written by Samir Banjanovic

May 8, 2008 at 11:25 pm

Leave a Reply

