Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

Viva la Vida

leave a comment »

It was an historic date yesterday; the British band Coldplay made “Violet Hill” available for download, free of charge, at their site. It will be available for download for a week (April 29th, 2008 till May 6th, 2008). I came across this magnificent find by reading some of my google news; I was so excited that I nearly pissed my diapers.

If I had to place Coldplay on a chart of favorite artists I would probably place it at numero uno. That’s right, numba one, why? Well, because I enjoy their music, to some it might not seem original, or creative, but to me there is nothing that measures up to it. You can listen to it when you are in any mood. I personally enjoy listening to them when I relaxed and when I feel like day dreaming. I also find myself listening to them when I am trying to draft up something in Photoshop. Maybe the reason I haven’t made any art lately is the fact that Coldplay has been missing in my life. Hmmm, that’s quite possible, when I look at my created work I find that most of it is influenced by Coldplay, that’s it! With this new single I’ll draft up something till the whole CD is available, damn I am so excited! Oh shit, hold on, I have to go change my undies!

Where do I start talking about the song? As the song starts we hear the piano which we all have come to love from Coldplay. Not only does Chris do an amazing job at the piano but his voice is that voice we all have come to love (no duh…) and more! The piano and the all too deep lyrics is complimented by Jonny’s guitar, which adds an edgy and blues like feel to the song. Will and Guy just top off the song with more magnificent instrumental work; I’ll go ahead and say it’s the best music in a very long time!

As the song goes on the guitar draws you further into it, all the instruments work in harmony, as they should, even the voice fits right in. In some songs the voice appears to be this inserted background noise, but here it goes perfectly with the other instruments. It doesn’t attempt to over cloud them, it’s not too quiet, it’s just right. Each instrument is operating at the perfect frequency and sound.

I simply love it

Obviously I am no professional music critic, but I had to write about this song. It threw me back into my old days of listening to Coldplay over and over, I am just thrilled that this new album is coming out; I simply cannot hold my excitement! For the love of god the album is going to rock my socks, I just know it! Anyway, go to their website, download the song, and listen to it for yourself.

Before I finish this off, I want to say that it’s not surprise this single is sparking so many creative ideas in my head. The album cover was inspired by artist Frida Kahlo, of you that don’t know who she is, google her, you’ll get plenty of hits. But to give a brief art history lesson, she’s a Mexican painter that was born 1907 and died in 1954; one of her most famous paintings is her self-portrait that can be found all over the web. If you do some further research you’ll learn about the vast artistic influence she’s had on the Mexican culture during the 80’s. But, don’t take my word for it, go out and discover it on your own.

I won’t talk much about the lyrics, because I am listening to it, trying find its meaning for myself. I am listening to it over and over to find out what it means to me. It usually takes me a long time, because I like to break it down to the smallest syllable. Most of the time my interpretation of lyrics is very farfetched, so when I write about it don’t hope that’ll make sense

Viva la Vida!

Written by Samir Banjanovic

May 1, 2008 at 1:42 am

Leave a Reply

