Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

The Fox 3.0

leave a comment »

Firefox 3.0

Well it isn’t exactly out for use, but it’s available for beta download. It’s currently in its 5th beta stage, and I have to say it is very enjoyable and user friendly. I was first thinking of using Safari 3 for PC, but the moment I installed it and tried running it my laptop started begging me to turn it off, uninstall it, and lock it away for good. It might just be me, but Safari wasn’t so hot on my Windows based machine. I know it’s an extremely good web browser on a Mac (I’ve used it on a couple of friends Apple based machines,) but it isn’t very good for a PC in my opinion.

When I started it up it took forever just to open, then I had to wait for it to connect to Apple.com, once it was done doing its thing it was sucking up 100mb of my laptop’s RAM, just sitting there. Yet, Firefox 3 beta 5 uses that much RAM when I have a couple of tabs open in it.

I am very impressed with Firefox 3, even in its beta stage it outperforms Firefox 2. Not only does it outperform Firefox 2, it is much easier to use, the menus are much more user oriented, and the new theme is very much to my liking.

But don’t take my word for it. If you haven’t used any version of Firefox I recommend you start out with using Firefox 2, until FF3 is released as a finished product. If for some crazy reason you happen to still be using Internet Explorer, I urge beg you to at least download Firefox 2.

This wasn’t meant to be hardcore breakdown of Firefox 3, however, I will say I am using it right now. Be warned, you cannot, and I can’t stress this enough, you cannot have Firefox 2 and 3 on the same machine, well you can, but it’ll cause some problems and conflicts back and forth. I could also be making up shit stuff. If you are interested in downloading and using Firefox 3.0 beta 5 please read the release notes before you do so.

Release your inner fox.

Even aliens dig firefox

Written by Samir Banjanovic

April 6, 2008 at 7:33 am

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

