Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

Bridge Connection Between PC and PlayStation 3

with 18 comments

If you’re like me, a gamer, you prefer a guided network connection for your PS3 (everything else is inferior) and PC.  However, not everyone’s console is conveniently located next to a router or modem.  In my case the router is upstairs and a 50 foot Ethernet cable running to the main computer. I could buy a switch and use it for what it was made, but that would cost money.  I could also buy another 50 foot cable, but that would mean I’d have to buy one, drill another hole and crawl through areas of my house I didn’t know exist.  Luckily my PC is very close to my PS3 meaning I can share my connection.  Your PC doesn’t have to be close to your PS3, but in this case I am assuming your PC is closer to your PS3 than your router, else you wouldn’t have ended here.

Windows Settings:

Make sure your computer has two Ethernet ports. Your motherboard may have two, if not you can buy a cheap Ethernet card online or in a store.

Ethernet Ports

After making sure all the hardware is present you need to make the connection on your PC a bridge connection. Open Network and Sharing Center, on the left click Change adapter settings. There you should see both adapters.

NetworkSharingCenter

Select both adapters by highlighting them. Once both are selected right click and choose Bridge Connection.

bridgeConnection

Once you’ve selected Bridge Connection Windows will do its thing and set up everything. It takes a few seconds Windows to up the bridge and for your computer to re-establish a connection.

ConnectionBridged

Now hook up your PS3 to your PC and Windows will do its thing again. However, you have to change some settings on the PS3.

PlayStation 3 Settings:

*Sorry that I don’t have any PS3 screens at the moment. I may add some later on.

Once your PS3 is ON go to Network Settings, there choose Internet Connection Settings. Choose Custom >Wired Connection > Manual Settings. For Speed and Duplex leave it on Automatic unless you know the speed, the same goes for IP Address. Under DHCP host name choose Do Not Set. Leave DNS and MTU Automatic. For Proxy Server choose Do Not Use.  Enable UPnP. Test you’re set up and it should come out just dandy.

*Note: This works between PCs as well. All you do is connect the two PCs together and let the OS (assuming it’s Windows) take care of the rest. If it doesn’t work and you’re running 7 or Vista use the automated problem detection to fix the problem.

Enjoy your bitchin’ speed.

Written by Samir Banjanovic

September 18, 2009 at 12:19 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice trik gonna try for my ps

    eazyshare

    October 4, 2009 at 12:06 am

    • It works great, my router doesn’t hate me anymore (it crashes with PS3 running on WiFi) and the downloads are much faster :)

      Samir Banjanovic

      October 6, 2009 at 3:05 am

  2. Thanks for the tip. It all works fine except i have a very slow connection speed between the two. A PS3 update is taking about 1.5 hours!! killer!
    is there any way of speeding the ethernet connection?
    thanks again

    Matt

    October 16, 2009 at 10:34 am

    • It could be your network card in the computer. It may not be able to compensate for the fact that it’s dealing with two connections, but in a way i doubt that’s the issue. It could also be the cable, I would try another cable see if it makes a difference.

      In the end it could also be your router.

      I would go step by step. I would disconnect the pc and take that cable and connect it to the ps3 see if it speeds it up, if it does you’ll know the problem isn’t the router or the connection from the router to your pc. After that I would look at the properties in the bridge connection, it may be limited for some odd reason. I would also check if there are driver updates for the network card, which could be an issue they fix.

      Let me now how it goes.

      Samir Banjanovic

      October 16, 2009 at 1:26 pm

  3. I used to ahve something like this on my XP. Now with windows 7, I followed this guide exactly but it will not work. Are there anything I can try to fix it?

    njepp

    October 26, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    • that’s odd. since you followed it step by step i assume you set the ps3 settings correct as well. you have to make sure you’re pc is on as well. Can you explain if you’re getting an error or something? A little more detail would help.

      Samir Banjanovic

      October 26, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  4. Luckily I was able to get it fixed… I called my ISP and ordered an extra set of IP:s. Apparently I only had one. In XP I had it set up so my PC was a DHCP-server and i couldnt get that to work under win7 weirdly.

    Now that i have another IP I can use, I just set the ip manually on the ps3 and set the ip of my PC as DNS and it worked. Dont ask me why but it works :-)

    njepp

    October 27, 2009 at 5:55 pm

  5. Oh… and the error was that the ps3 couldnt get an IP from the computer when it was set to automatic.

    njepp

    October 27, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    • hm that’s weird. the way it works is in windows 7 is that the bridge should share it’s ip with the ps3. I haven’t checked but i am pretty sure my ps3 and pc have the same IP address. Weird that you had that issue. Glad you got it worked out.

      Samir Banjanovic

      October 28, 2009 at 3:21 am

  6. Its really strange, when the PS3 tries to obtain the IP it instantly says on the PC Bridge Connection, Connection Cable UnPlugged.

    Frobyy

    December 23, 2009 at 9:52 am

    • That’s new, I can’t say i’ve ever encountered that problem. Have you checked that you’re not sharing the internet connection and that the port that’s used for connecting to the internet is set up properly.

      Samir Banjanovic

      January 19, 2010 at 4:06 pm

  7. hi there i desperately need some help to do with connecting my laptop to my ps3, i know that i need to bridge the connection but it doesn’t let me because you cant bridge them if the connections are being used by Internet connection sharing.

    i found the solution but there are still no changes after deselecting the box.

    please help me with this im very new to online gaming and stuff lol. i use windows 7 by the way.

    ibrahim

    January 14, 2010 at 1:16 am

    • I don’t see a reason why you’d want to connect your ps3 to your laptop. If you’re using your laptop on wirless and then feeding that for the bridge then you’re wasting your laptops battery. PS3 has wi-fi built in just use that. In order for the bridge to work you need to disable internet sharing, select the two cards in network devices and create a bridge between them.

      Samir Banjanovic

      January 19, 2010 at 4:05 pm

  8. Hi, I already try this but didnt work so fine for me… the PS3 keep loosing the connection, it reestart from time to time and when you play online you just cant afford that! seems to me like the PC was getting all the broadband leaving few for the PS3, anyone knows a software to control ot? or a way to do this and monitoring the traffic? or even a way to set a more stable connection between both of them??? THANKS A LOT FOR THE INFOOOOO…

    Felipe

    January 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    • Try updating your router firmware.

      Samir Banjanovic

      January 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      • I dont have any router, its just from modem to PC and bridged to PS3…

        Felipe

        January 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  9. So wait, I have to have a wired connection in my PC for this to work?

    Jon

    January 22, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • Your ps3 comes with wifi built in. What would be point of connecting your ps3 to a wireless computer?

      Samir Banjanovic

      January 22, 2010 at 9:18 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

