Infrequent Geek

Know How To Computer Blog

Win. 7 – New Folder Keyboard Shortcut

with 12 comments

HotKey FTW

HotKey FTW

I was playing around on my laptop while trying to get some folders organized. To get a new folder I had to constantly right click > new > folder.  Out of some strange reason I tried pressing CTRL + N, that brought up my Libraries Explorer, which also happens to be my first icon pinned to the taskbar.  I then remembered that sometimes you can start new instances of a program by holding SHIFT + WINKEY + ICON#. So for the hell of it I pressed SHIFT + CTRL + N, and what do you know a new folder appeared on the desktop, it works in other folders as well.

I don’t know if this was in the Beta versions (I am running RC) of Win7. However, I know one thing for certain. It’s freakign awesome. I’ve been wanting a shortcut out of the box that does this and it looks like Microsoft has heard my prayers.

Win. 7. More Awesomer.

Written by Samir Banjanovic

June 17, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Posted in Windows

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Win 7 – New Folder Keyboard Shortcut &#10&#83&#104are and […]

  2. […] Samir Related PostsHow To Create Custom Windows 7 ThemesOpen In New Process Added To Context MenuWindows […]

  3. […] [Win. 7 – New Folder Keyboard Shortcut] Tagged: hotkey, shortcut, Windows 7 […]

  4. Ditch explorer altogether and grab Xplorer2 ( http://zabkat.com ). There’s a lite version for home use, so you don’t have to pay for a license.

    The shortcut for new folders in Xplorer2 is F8. Very nice and simple, used in conjunction with Rename (F2).

    warplayer

    June 18, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    • Yeah I knew about that, but having it built into the OS is a nice touch, this way an regular user doesn’t have to search the internet to find it.

      Samir B.

      June 18, 2009 at 3:57 pm

  5. […] Win. 7 – New Folder Keyboard Shortcut I was playing around on my laptop while trying to get some folders organized. To get a new folder I had to constantly […] […]

  6. ha! my friend im’s me, asks me if i submitted the win+e shortcut to lh. i think “hmmm, no, though ive been using it for so many years did i do it without thinking?”

    turns out there is another samir b with a very similar set of gripes and observances regarding UI in various operating systems.

    nice to meet you!

    samir b

    June 23, 2009 at 11:01 am

    • Ha. What a small world.

      Samir Banjanovic

      June 23, 2009 at 2:25 pm

  7. still new with this OS, and trying arround

    @hmad

    August 5, 2009 at 9:41 pm

  8. I had looked everywhere for this. Ctrl-Shift-N does the trick! Thanks for posting.

    Matthew Simoneau

    October 8, 2009 at 2:23 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

